Christmas Markets & Culture // Vienna, Austria

 

After a few days in Prague I headed to Vienna where I met up with a couple of other assistants for Christmas.

While I wish I could’ve been home for Christmas, it was nice to spend it in the lovely city of Vienna. Unfortunately, I didn’t have nearly enough time to explore other parts of Austria. My question is why does Europe celebrate Christmas on the 24th?? *le sigh*The holiday changed the hours of some of the museums and other cultural sites were different. But, it was still a great time!

Sadly, I missed the Gustav Klimt exhibit, but I will definitely be back for that.

Christmas day in Vienna means veal, champagne, and museum hopping!

Before I came to Europe, I never quite understood when people talked about their favorite Christmas markets. Now, I get it; The market at Rathausplatz is definitely one of my favorites. I even kept one of the hot wine mugs as a souvenir. Sadly, Christmas market season was coming to a close, but then it was off to Budapest!

xx, Kaitlin

Leave a comment